11th Montfort Cup Interschool Debate Competition 2019-20

"You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic."

Debate is one of the academic activities that give students creative room to hone public speaking skills and teach them to be articulate while expressing their thoughts and opinions.

With the same perspective in view, the **11**th **Montfort Cup Interschool Debate Competition** was held on 3rd August 2019 in the school auditorium. As many as 32 participants from 16 prestigious school of Bhopal took part in it.

The programme started with lighting the Lamp by the Principal, Rev. Bro. Monachan K.K. and the Jury Members followed by a prayer song. Talented and budding orators spoke in favour and against the motioneloquently on the topic, 'Advertising helps us buy better'. The session was a kaleidoscope of opinions, thoughts, ideas and perspectives that definitely enhanced the knowledge and understanding of the topic among students. The participants, armed with statistics and data validated and made their arguments more emphatic with right facial expressions, body movements and gestures.

The debaters displayed confidence in presenting their arguments before audience and a panel of eminent jury members: Dr. Sangeeta Kumar, Soft Skill Trainer, T.I.T., Bhopal; Mr. Ramesh Chandra, Rtd. Dy. Secretary, U. P., Govt.

At the end of the heated but interesting debate which lasted over two hours, finally DPS, Neelbad was declared the winnerand was presented the overall champion trophy.

In the individual performance for the motion, Vartika Jain of DPS, Neelbad bagged the Best Speaker Award. Anushka Pillai of St. Joseph Co-Ed received second Best Speaker Award. In against the motion category, Sonia Maria Joseph of Carmel Convent BHEL was adjudged the Best Speaker and Saloni Katre of St. Theresa's Girls Schoolwere declared the Second Best Speaker. Besides this, all participants were given a certificate of participation and refreshment. The event was well preparedby Programme Co-ordinator, Mr. Krishna Kapil, Mrs. Samta Chawla and cabinet members of the school.

Vote of thanks was proposed by the Head Boy of the School, Mast. Rushaan Ranaand the day was concluded with the national anthem.